7 comments on “The Genius of Python’s “Self”

  1. “There may be other languages that meld OO and functional programing together well, but I haven’t heard of them.”

    You haven’t heard of JavaScript? I talk to you about it all the time!

    Like

    • 1) I don’t consider js to be OO. Either I don’t understand it’s OO-ness well enough, or IT doesn’t understand OO-ness well enough.
      2) Do they meld the two together the way I explained Python doing? Or a different, but equally effective way?

      Like

    • I’ve looked into it a little bit. I’m considering looking again, but I think I’ll stick with Python if for no other reason than the fact that I love it’s syntax.

      Like

      • I’ve been active with Python for a while, even head up the local user group. F# has significant white space and is the functional language most like Python. Discovered it when my place of employment decided to go pure .NET for some of our products.

        Like

  2. Pingback: A New Idea for Calling Functions | Programming Ideas With Jake

  3. Pingback: The Yin and Yang of Python | Programming Ideas With Jake

Leave a comment